Accreditations: Doctors: Beds:
International Patient Services: Yes
Languages:English, Irish Gaelic



The Mater Private, Irelands leading private hospital, has been bringing world class medical facilities and world leading health professionals to Ireland for many years. Our consultants, medical, nursing healthcare and administration staff are renowned for their dedication and expertise. Patients can be assured of the very highest level of care in all aspects of their treatment.

Since the Mater Private Hospital first opened its doors to patients in 1986 the Hospital has pioneered major developments in Irish medicine, introducing outstanding technological innovation and services. The Mater Private Hospital has 184 inpatient beds, 24 day therapy beds, 10 day oncology couches, 7 theatres and a 9 bed Intensive Care Unit. We carry out thousands of investigations and operations each year and over 170 consultants bring their patients to us with confidence. We are Ireland's only private hospital that provides an all integrated 24 hour, 365 day intensive care and anaesthetic service delivered by a team of specialists.

From the moment you arrive at the Mater Private Hospital Dublin, be assured that you are in good hands at Ireland's leading private hospital. We have a long tradition in care and aim to provide you with the highest quality care and compassion. Our medical expertise is second to none and our staff have long been recognised for their warmth and expertise.

During your stay, your wellbeing is our primary concern and we will do everything we can to help make you feel as comfortable and relaxed as possible. We believe that excellent care is more than just good medicine and we wish your stay with us to be as safe, pleasant and comfortable as possible.

It is important to us that you understand all aspects of your care so we encourage you to ask as many questions as you need to. Our medical staff are always happy to talk to you about your condition and treatment. If you have any questions or queries prior to your admission please do not hesitate to contact us directly.


List of Specialities/ Department:

  • Anaesthesia / Intensive Care Medicine
  • Cardiology
  • Cardio-Thoracic Surgery
  • Dermatology
  • Diabetes / Endocrinology
  • Gastroenterology
  • General Surgery
  • Gynaecology
  • Haematology
  • Hepatology
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Neurology
  • Neurosurgery
  • Nephrology
  • Ophthalmology
  • Oral Surgery
  • Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Otorhinolaryngology / ENT
  • Pain Management
  • Phlebotomy
  • Plastic Surgery
  • Respiratory Medicine
  • Rheumatology
  • Sleep Disorders Medicine
  • Urology
  • Vascular Surgery
  • Oncology


  • Aeromedical
  • Allergy Testing
  • Cancer Services
  • Cardiology
  • Chest Pain Assessment Unit
  • Day Therapy
  • Diagnostic Imaging
  • Dietetics
  • Eye Laser
  • Gastrointestinal Function Laboratory
  • Health Check
  • Neurophysiology
  • Ophthalmology
  • Orthopaedics
  • Pathology Laboratory / Phlebotomy
  • Physiotherapy
  • Plastic Surgery
  • Pulmonary Function Testing
  • Sleep Disorder Clinic
  • Specialist Breast Centre



  • Dr. William Blunnie
  • Dr. Mary Bowen
  • Prof. Donal Buggy
  • Dr. Kevin Carson
  • Dr. Liam Claffey
  • Dr. Harry Frizelle
  • Dr. James Gardiner
  • Dr. Michael Griffin
  • Dr. Agnes Hayes
  • Dr. Niamh Hayes
  • Dr. Fidelma Kirby
  • Dr. John Loughrey
  • Dr. Avine Lydon
  • Dr. Maire McCarroll
  • Dr. Conan McCaul
  • Dr. John McHale


  • Dr. Gavin Blake
  • Dr. Pauline Diamond
  • Dr. Joseph Galvin
  • Dr. Thomas Gumbrielle
  • Dr. Ted Keelan
  • Dr. Paul Keelan
  • Dr. Niall Mahon
  • Dr. Brendan McAdam
  • Dr. Hugh McCann
  • Dr. Jim O’Neill
  • Dr. Richard Sheahan
  • Prof. Declan Sugrue
  • Dr. Kevin Walsh
  • Cardiothoracic Surgery
  • Mr. John Hurley
  • Mr. James McCarthy
  • Mr. Lars Nolke
  • Prof. J Mark Redmond
  • Prof. Freddie Wood


  • Dr. Maria Byrne
  • Dr. Roisin Drury
  • Dr. Richard Firth
  • Dr. Brendan Kinsley


  • Mr. Alexander Blayney
  • Mr. David Charles
  • Mr. Michael Colreavy
  • Mr. Tadhg O'Dwyer
  • Mr. Peter Walshe
  • Ms. Helena Rowley


  • Prof. John Crowe
  • Dr. Thomas Barry Kelleher
  • Prof. Padraic MacMathuna
  • Ms. Sinead Byrne
  • Dr. Jan Leyden


  • Dr. Michael Behan
  • Dr. Eamon Breathnach
  • Prof. Stephen Eustace
  • Prof. Helen Fenlon
  • Dr. Fidelma Flanagan
  • Dr. Gormlaith Hargaden
  • Dr. Eoin Kavanagh
  • Dr. Leo Lawlor


  • Prof. Ciaran Bolger
  • Mr. Sean O'Laoire
  • Mr. Padraic O'Neill
  • Dr. Gavin Quigley
  • Mr. Muhammad Sattar
  • Mr. Steven Young
  • Mr. Michael Kelleher

General Surgery

  • Ms. Ann Brannigan
  • Prof. Tom Gorey
  • Mr. Malcolm Kell
  • Mr. Ciaran McDonnell
  • Mr. Gerry McEntee
  • Mr. Martin O’Donohoe
  • Mr. Kevin O'Malley
  • Mr. Conor Shields
  • Mr. Maurice Stokes
  • Ms. Deborah McNamara
  • Gynaecology
  • Dr. Alhadi Araibi
  • Dr. William Boyd
  • Dr. Thomas Walsh
  • Haematology
  • Dr. Mary McCloy
  • Dr. Peter O’ Gorman
  • Dr. Patrick Thornton
  • Infectious Tropical Disease
  • Dr. John Lambert
  • Dr. Paddy Mallon
  • Prof. William Powderly


  • Dr. John Donohoe
  • Dr. Yvonne O’Meara
  • Dr. Denise Sadlier


  • Dr. Donal Costigan
  • Prof. Peter Kelly
  • Prof. Tim Lynch


  • Mr. Robert Acheson
  • Mr. Mark Cahill
  • Dr. Susan Fitzsimon
  • Mr. Ian Flitcroft
  • Mr. Tim Fulcher
  • Mr. David Keegan
  • Ms. Patricia Logan
  • Mr. Paul Moriarty
  • Prof. Colm O’Brien
  • Ms. Louise O Toole
  • Prof. Michael O'Keefe


  • Ms. Noelle Cassidy
  • Mr. Paul Connolly
  • Mr. Darragh Hynes
  • Prof. Damian McCormack
  • Mr. Kevin Mulhall
  • Prof. John O’Byrne
  • Mr. Ashley Poynton
  • Prof. Michael Stephens
  • Mr. Keith Synnott
  • Mr. Marcus Timlin
  • Plastic Surgery
  • Mr. Eamon Beausang
  • Mr. Kevin Cronin
  • Dr. Patricia Eadie
  • Mr. Michael Earley
  • Mr. Richard Hanson
  • Mr. Brian Kneafsey
  • Mr. Denis Lawlor
  • Mr. Dylan Murray


  • Prof. John Fitzpatrick
  • Mr. Hugh Gallagher
  • Mr. Gerard Lennon
  • Mr. Kiaran O’Malley


  • Dr. Tony Egan
  • Dr. Gillian Murphy
  • Prof. Frank Powel